Wisconsin’s primary is Aug. 9. Here’s what you need to know.

MANITOWOC — While there may not be county-level races in Tuesday’s primary election, there are plenty of statewide races to participate in.

Tuesday’s primary will decide who advances to November’s midterm ballot, which will be crowned by Wisconsin’s gubernatorial race.

Incumbent Tony Evers remains the only Democratic candidate for governor, so there will only be a Republican primary, which includes candidates Kevin Nicholson (who dropped out, but his name will still be on the ballot), Rebecca Kleefisch, Timothy Ramthun, Adam Fischer and Tim Michels.

There will be Democratic and Republican primaries for the lieutenant governor. The Democratic ballot includes candidates Peng Her and Sara Rodriguez; and the Republican ballot includes candidates Patrick Testin, Will Martin, Kyle Yudes, Roger Roth, David Varnam, Cindy Werner, David King and Jonathan Wichmann.

AFTER: How do the new voting rules affect the August primaries? Wisconsin‘s top election official explains

AFTER: Here’s a Manitowoc-area voter’s guide to the August 9 Wisconsin primary election

State level primaries

In addition to the race for governor of Wisconsin, there are several other races for seats that represent the Manitowoc County area in the state senate, state assembly, and in the national arena.

State Assembly District 2



  • Amy Binsfeld
  • Tyler Vorpagel (i)
  • patrick johnson


  • Jeanette Deschene
  • Ruth Villareal
  • Devin Le Mahieu

United States Representative District 6



  • Ron Johnson (i)
  • David Schröder


  • Mandela Barnes
  • Alex Lasry (he dropped out of the race, but his name will be on the ballot)
  • Kou C.Lee
  • Sarah Godlewski (she dropped out of the race, but her name will be on the ballot)
  • Pierre Peckarsky
  • Steven Olikara
  • Tom Nelson (he dropped out of the race, but his name will be on the ballot)
  • Darrell Williams

State Treasurer



  • Aaron Richardson
  • Angelito Tenorio
  • Gillian Battino

Secretary of State


  • Amy Lynn Loudenbeck
  • Jay Schröder
  • Justin Schmidtka


  • Doug LaFollette
  • Alexia Sabor

Attorney General


  • Eric Tonney
  • Karen Muller
  • Adam Jarchow

County level races

While none of the county-level races need a primary, it’s important to note that there is one contested race that will appear on the midterm ballot – the Manitowoc County Clerk of the Circuit Short. Incumbent Lynn Zigmunt is running as a Democrat and challenger April Higgins is running as a Republican.

Sheriff Dan Hartwig is running unopposed for his second term and Coroner Curt Green is running unopposed for his fourth term.

Voting information and polls

Polling stations will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Tuesday. Voters must be registered and present photo identification, such as a driver’s license. Registration is available at each polling station. To register, individuals will need to provide proof of residence with a utility bill, bank statement, driver’s license, etc.

To find polling places and more information about what will appear on the ballot, visit www.myvote.wi.gov or call your local clerk’s office.

Contact Alisa Schafer at [email protected] Follow her on Twitter at @AlisaMSchafer.

About Marc Womack

Check Also

Wisconsin Rapids Man is Tug of the Year

WISCONSIN RAPIDS, Wis. (WSAW) – Chris Nieman of Nieman’s Towing and Recovery in Wisconsin Rapids …